The Council

The Mayor

2023-2024 Cllr Ms Jacqui Footman

The Town Mayor, which is a non-political position, and their Deputy, is nominated and appointed by the Town Council each year at the Annual Meeting of the Town Council in May.
The Mayor acts as Chairman to the Council and holds the honorary title for twelve months. They appoint their Serjeants at Mace, Mayor’s Constables, Chaplain and Mayor’s Cadet at a traditional ceremony arranged by the Town Council which is usually held in May. During their term of office as Mayor, they attend various events and functions, both within the parish and by invitation to events outside of the town. These can range from visiting a parishioner on their 100th birthday, opening a local fete, judging floats at the Carnival or attending Civic Services or Charity Events arranged by other Mayors within the area. On occasions they will be required to wear the ‘Chain of Office’ which dates from 1893 and to wear the full Civic Regalia.
The Mayor is a figurehead for the Town Council, to represent the parishioners at other towns, and is expected to take a lead role in the smooth running of Council business.
The Mayor for the 2023/2024 municipal year is Cllr Ms Jacqui Footman. Cllr Ms Footman is supported by Cllr Mrs Christine Lock as Deputy Mayor who stands in when she is unavailable.

Councillor Contact Details

Cllr Matthew Bushell

13 Exmoor View
South Molton EX36 3BD
01769 579455

Cllr Marc Cornelius

Crown Hill, New Road
South Molton EX36 3BB
01769 572336

Cllr Ms Jacqui Footman

01769 572207

Cllr Paul Henderson

No2 Kings Street
South Molton EX36 3BL
01769 572502

Cllr Ron Herniman

Contact Cllr Herniman
The Amory Centre

Cllr Wayne Martin

32 Cider Way
South Molton

Cllr Peter Bishop

Contact Cllr Bishop
The Amory Centreo

Cllr Steven Hinchliffe

56 South Street
South Molton
07793 355985

Cllr Mrs Christine Lock

77 Churchill Crescent
South Molton EX36 4EL
01769 574383

Cllr Stephen Lock

77 Churchill Crescent
South Molton EX36 4EL
01769 574383

Cllr Vanessa Burnham

Cllr David Worden

16 Raleigh Close
South Molton EX36 4DS
01769 572809

North Devon Councillors

Cllr Matthew Bushell

Cllr Peter Bishop

Cllr David Worden

Devon County Council Councillor

Cllr Jeremy Yabsley

Culm Issues, Little Yeo,
Witheridge EX16 8QA
01884 860605

South Molton Staff

Andrew Coates

Town Clerk

Carol Bere

Responsible Finance Officer (RFO)


Philip Tomkins
P/T Assistant

Amory Centre

Jacqui Eaton
Supervisor & Senior Bookings Advisor

Debbie Carder
Bookings Advisor / Cemetery Officer

Market & Maintenance

Will Tyacke
Pannier Market Supervisor

Melanie James
Pannier Market
Events and Promotions

Matthew Palmer
Maintenance Operative

Stephen Huxtable
Maintenance Operative

Joshua Thomas
Maintenance Operative